Excitement

The last couple of days have been full of excitement.

I have been offered a plot of land for the summer, outside of Ottawa, to use to grow crops to support the Alternate Economy.

Ian Walker of Mariposa Farms, has currently offered our community an amazing opportunity. He has 86 acres of farmland, much of which is in use, but much of which stands fallow as well. Assuming that we maintain the land and the crops and provide the seed, we are free to use the land as we wish.

What a spectacular offer! I am still trying to figure out how this benefits Ian, but sometimes Generosity is simply that. His land is unused. We need land.

To start, since I have little experience as a farmer, I would like to ask Ian for a small 1/4 to 1/2 acre plot.

Here is how I see this working. I would like to grow some simple crops throughout the summer, organically, and split the harvest in three ways. One half of the harvest will go to market, to raise funds for the Alternate Economy, so that we may purchase land of our own. One quarter of the harvest will go to Ian, for his generosity in using his land. One quarter will be donated to the local Salvation Army soup kitchen.

But now it is time to brainstorm!

I do not mind providing the labour for the summer to work this farm. I would like to chronicle its successes on this blog in order to garner more support for our cause. I have a job, in the evenings, which I can continue to work while tending to the gardens in the daytime. By keeping the garden small and recruiting my friends (I already have one colleague who is an avid gardener and has invited me over on wednesday lunch to discuss how she can participate) it should be manageable. I am not interested in garnishing my salary. I make enough money currently. I am more than happy to donate all of the proceeds from this endeavour back to the Alternate Economy. After a summer’s growth, we may just have enough to purchase an acre of our own.

So, now I call to you, my blog followers. One of the main reasons for doing this project would be to form a concrete example of how Generosity can and will solve the problems we are facing. There are currently 750 followers to this blog. I alone will have a hard time coming up with the funds to seed this plot of land. I might be able to come up with the money for seeds, but that is about it. Together, we could potentially build a small portable greenhouse, or two, or three. We could buy a female pig, to add to Ian’s stock. We could buy some chickens and sell the eggs. We could buy a beehive. Together, our options begin to multiply.

So, please, come to me with your ideas! What would you do, if you had a half acre plot to work with? How much would you be willing to give to see this project become a reality? If everyone gave $10, we would very definitely be able to make some interesting headway on this project.

I am willing to donate my labour and the money it will take to fill up my car with gas to get to the farm every second day. I am willing to put some money towards seeds. To chronicle the successes and failures of the endeavour. I am willing to donate all of the proceeds back to the Alternate Economy. Ian is willing to lend us his farm, free of charge, because he believes in our goals and our mission. What are you willing to do?

For those of you who are not willing to participate, please leave comments indicating why.

